These cupcakes just don’t keep!

I don’t know how long I’ll be able to keep up on Sundays with Joy (baking from the Joy the Baker cookbook with my online, baking obsessed companions) but I managed this week!

4_21_13cupcake_ingred_web

We baked mini chamomile cakes with honey frosting (sorry for the blurry photo–my IT guy (aka my husband) took these pictures with his phone; mostly they turn out great, but not this one). I didn’t have regular milk so I mixed cream with skim milk and it worked fine. The batter was super easy to make as most of the ingredients just went straight into the mixer except for the eggs, milk and vanilla. In fact, the only thing even mildly challenging (other than keeping myself from eating most of them) was opening 12, count ’em 12, tea bags to get the chamomile out. You’d think that my local hippie food coop place would have bulk chamomile. Just sayin’

4_21_13moto_wants_web

Moto sensed the presence of butter, but I frustated his sworn intentions.

4_21_13frosting_cupcakes_web

Even though I doubled the cupcake recipe, the quantities for the frosting seemed pretty large to me so I made a batch and a half. This was half a recipe too much. This means that I have to have the sailors tie me to the mast every time I open the refrigerator door. I’ll bet it would taste really good on carrot cake pancakes (Inside Baking with Joy joke).

4_21_13_sprinkled_cupcakes_web

Brought these for the costume crew at school. People always seem to like the baked goods that I bring (perhaps because they’re ravenous college students?)–these, however, generated the most positive response yet! They’re definitely going on my bake again list. My only complaint? They just don’t keep–I turned my back and they were gone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

